Sitting Behind a Desk

To: Sitting Behind a Desk,

“Hi, how are you” “How is your day” “Of course, let them know” “go ahead honey, they are in their office” These are a few examples of what I would like to hear when I walk into an office and you are sitting behind your desk. But instead this is what I get from you- a glance and then the back of your head (which by the way, you’re going grey). Now I’m sure that there is something more interesting on your computer screen, but your job is not to stalk your ex on Facebook, but to help the person waiting at the front desk. When you finally decide to help me (after I cough, grunt and clear my throat obnoxiously to get your attention, for what seems like 5 hours), you turn and roll your eyes and then go “what do you need?” How do you think that makes me feel? Well it makes me feel like I am not worth your time and it really makes me not want to work with your boss. Honestly you are lucky to have a job, especially in this economy. When an ad goes out for a secretarial job, are the prerequisites to be: nasty and lazy? When I walk into the office I feel like I am in an unemployment office, talking to the monotone, an unhappy secretary. The worst is at private schools, you are rude and yell at the students and the parents. The parents are your employers! They pay for you to have a fricken job. I suggest you put a smile on your face (especially if you don’t want to look 80, but I think it is a bit too late for that one) and be polite.

Sincerely,

Teen Drama Queen


Leave a Reply

